Posted in Life, Memories, Stories

It was it’s Last Day after all

It happened about a year ago. I was on my motorcycle with a friend. I don’t remember where we were going now but we were in hurry. We turned left on a signal and started on a side road when out of the blue; something big and black fluttered on my bike’s fuel tank and then jumped on the front wheel. My brakes were just in time, but I had to hear some ‘bad words’ from the car which was right behind us.

I hopped off my bike leaving it to my friend and picked up the bird from the street. It was a tawny and white pigeon, with a black plastic carry-bag entangled to its right foot. I disentangled the plastic and put the bird down at a corner. It fluttered but couldn’t fly, it was hurt. I didn’t have much time so I picked it again and placed on a compound wall off the street to be safe.

I was just turning to leave when a big grey cat, probably already sitting on the wall but I didn’t see it, jumped on the pigeon I had just ‘tried to save’ and disappeared into the bushes at the other side of the wall.

I just stood there; stunned. Then my friend who was watching all this from a distance came to me and said ‘don’t feel bad, you did try, I guess it was it’s last day after all.’

Author:

I like to Read, Write and Travel but most of all, I like spending time with my nephew.

Leave a Reply

