Posted in humor, Life, Memories, Village

Easily Fooled

Last year my mother’s uncle had a heart surgery and I had to visit him at a rural hospital in ‘Wardha’, near Nagpur. The hospital was big, clean and well equipped but the surrounding area was unkempt and crowded with people from villages all around.

We talked for a while; me and my great uncle; about his health, then about family, then his village and finally about weather and then I asked him if he needed anything; for as soon as I had stepped in his room his grandson who was attending to him had excused himself and hadn’t returned. My great uncle said he’d like some orange juice so I went to get it at a juice center outside the hospital grounds. On my way back an old man who was sitting at the main gate beckoned me and very politely said, “It’s really embarrassing, but my daughter didn’t bring my lunch yet and I’m getting really hungry.” He seemed from a good family. Well clothed, combed and clean. I felt bad for him and gave him a 100 Rupees note. He turned the note a few times in his hands in disbelief and I couldn’t stand there and watch.

After giving my great uncle his juice I peaked from the window. The old man was still sitting there near the distant gates and explaining something to a man in blue suit. The man rummaged in his pockets and gave the old man some money. Again the old man turned the note in his hands and the man in blue suit left, wearing sympathy and satisfaction on his face.

I was flabbergasted. I couldn’t believe people could deceive you in such ways. I was shocked that I had been made fool so easily.

But then, you can’t stop helping others just because of this kind of…. People.

Author:

I like to Read, Write and Travel but most of all, I like spending time with my nephew.

26 thoughts on “Easily Fooled

  1. Definitely if someone is in need I buy them food. Some people have no moral compass or social conscience, not to say the guy wasn’t in need but if he sits doing that all day he’s probably not in as much need as other people who can’t humble themselves to ask. What I find is the real shame is that people who take advantage of kindness like this can make people stop perfoing acts of kindness and that is the greatest loss when a kind heart is hardened.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Gee, Kunal Rane . . . I noticed you had visited my blog, “The Ripening Wanderer” and so I decided to visit you blog and I am so happy I chose to do so because you write things the way I wish I could write things and I will be visiting with you often to gain inspiration. I am adding you to my Blog List too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes our intention have more power an meaning than the image we picture when the truth of lies are perceived. We will never be person to face the consequences of deception but we can be joyous knowing that it is not our wanted way =)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My parents restrain from giving money to people out of the blue. As a kid I did not understand why because they always donated to charities of cloth in Ramkrishna Math. They also always help our domestic helpers in time of need. By reading your article I can now understand how people in the world can be so deceptive.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have a beautiful heart attitude, that we can’t stop being good people who help others “just because” some folks are deceitful. If the whole world felt as we do, there would be no more poverty. God bless you–and I agree with the reader who suggested it’s best to go buy something for the person, rather than give money. Wishing you success with your writing and all other endeavors.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We are often caught in the crossfire of conscience. Do we enable someone potentially able but abusing others misfortunes. We cannot turn a blind eye too often and it des feed us as well as the person in question, some of us. But the solution is simply mid way and our instinct should be to help but don’t be taken…sandwiches or a scarf works. (I live in colder climes)

    I was drawn in by seeing Nagpur written. My dad was born there and came to the UK 60 years ago, sadly he died not long ago. I have visited India twice in my lifetime and I love it, or what I saw of it. I enjoyed that bittersweet story in part.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Easily fooled? I think not. You were non-judgmental and generous. I hope you would give from you heart the next time and the next because there is goodness in you. If you close your heart, fools and the greedy win. We must be bigger than the worst among us. We must. Good hearts are the only hope for this world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

